Forum

Great Work!

Yassen Damyanov
18 September 2008, 14:06
Hi Hugo and all Hiawatha users!

I am new to Hiawatha, but I am impressed by the product! I run a small hosting center and I plan to primarily use Hiawatha as a web server ...

I am a bit hesitant however, as I do not know how strong is the Hiawatha community and if I will get the support I might need.

Please, advice, anyone, I would be happy to deploy a solution based on this nice piece of software but I need more input.

Thank you!
Yassen
Hugo Leisink
18 September 2008, 15:05
Almost all of the support is given by me (the author of Hiawatha). I'm still activly working on Hiawatha (working on better Windows and MacOS X support right now), so you don't have to worry about that. I'm giving an answer to every question on this forum within a day (unless I'm on holiday etc), so if you have any problem, it will be solved soon.

There is a FAQ and HOWTO for Hiawatha on this website, which should give you all the information you need to get started. I get a lot of compliments for how easy people find to configure Hiawatha. The manpage is complete. Hiawatha has all the things a modern webserver needs, so I would say: go ahead and use it!

If you think things are missing in Hiawatha, just let me know and I'll see what I can do for you.
Yassen Damyanov
18 September 2008, 15:21
Ahh Hugo, thanks a lot for your prompt reply! This by itself gives me much confidence.

Although I am new to Hiawatha (as already noted), here's a feedback of a newcomer that may be useful to you, as you know, when someone outside enters the room, he can better feel what the air smells of; those inside have already got used to that )

1. Hiawatha needs to be popularized. I think it deserves much more publicity than it has. I can say that I stumbled upon it "by accident" to discover that (so far) it is exactly what I was looking for.