Forum

Hiawatha and PHP-FPM

Olli
2 July 2010, 23:49
Hi everybody,

I'm relatively new to Hiawatha and server configuration itself so my question might be a stupid one: I use the newest PHP version (5.3.2) and PHP-FPM and want to know how to configure Hiawatha the right way to use fpm instead of cgi.

I changed the following line in the main config:
CGIhandler = /usr/bin/php5-fpm:php,php5

And uncommented the following one in php-fcgi.conf:
Server = /usr/bin/php5-cgi ; 127.0.0.1:2005 ; www-data ; /etc/php5/fpm/php.ini

A php file with phpinfo in it is interpreted (u can check at http://178.63.170.13) so it seems to run. But did I change the right thing(s)?

Kudos,
Olli

--
Hiawatha version: 7.3
Operating System: Debian 5
Hugo Leisink
3 July 2010, 00:18
I have no experience with php-fpm, so I can't tell for sure. According to the online documentation, php5-fpm is only a replacement for the original FastCGI implementation in PHP5. So, you can safely replace php5-cgi with php5-fpm.

Using php5-fpm with the CGIhandler is not going to help. CGIhandler is to use PHP5 in normal CGI mode, not in FastCGI mode.

Exchange php5-cgi with php5-fpm in php-fcgi.conf and use the FastCGI settings in hiawatha.conf as described in the CGI and FastCGI HOWTO page.

Oh, and remember: questions are never stupid.
Olli
3 July 2010, 09:48
Unfortunately that doesn't work for me - I get a "503 - Service unavaiable" error while trying to open some php document. My hiawatha.conf looks like this:
ServerId = www-data
ConnectionsTotal = 150
ConnectionsPerIP = 10
SystemLogfile = /var/log/hiawatha/system.log
GarbageLogfile = /var/log/hiawatha/garbage.log

Binding {
Port = 80
MaxKeepAlive = 30
TimeForRequest = 3,20
}

BanOnGarbage = 300
BanOnMaxPerIP = 60
BanOnMaxReqSize = 300
KickOnBan = yes
RebanDuringBan = yes

CGIhandler = /usr/bin/perl:pl
CGIhandler = /usr/bin/php5-cgi:php,php5
CGIhandler = /usr/bin/python:py
CGIhandler = /usr/bin/ruby:rb
CGIhandler = /usr/bin/ssi-cgi:shtml
CGIextension = cgi